Wednesday, November 18th, 2015
OVC Lifetime Learning Centre

Award Winners

PhD 1st prize Katie Clow, Pathobiology PhD, 2nd prize Kaitlin Patterson, Population Medicine
MSc 1st prize, Saranya Nair, Population Medicine
DVSc 1st prize Firdous Khan, Population Medicine, 2nd Prize Cyrielle Finck, Clinical Studies

PhD/DVSc 1st prize Amanda Perri, Population Medicine, 2nd prize Joelle Ingrao, Pathobiology
MSc 1st prize Mikayla Ross, Pathobiology, 2nd prize Adam Andrade, Biomedical Sciences

Research achievements of current graduate students will be showcased at the annual Graduate Student Research Symposium.  All OVC graduate students are encouraged to participate in this event by sharing your research findings, practicing your presentation skills and celebrating research in the OVC community. Students should discuss their intention to submit an abstract with their advisor and give serious consideration to authorship and intellectual property. . See the attached instructions on how to prepare and submit your abstract.


  Poster Sessions Oral PresentationsSchofield Memorial
Reception and Awards
 Time 10:00 AM - 11:30 AM12:30 PM - 3:30 PM3:30 PM - 4:30 PM4:30 PM
 Room TBDTBD 17141707 

Poster Sessions

Posters must be mounted by 10 am on November 18 and students are expected to be at their poster from 10:00-11:30 am.

Oral Presentations

Oral presentations of 13 minutes (10 minute presentation, 3 minute question period) will be held in the afternoon. Please realize that time available for oral presentations is limited, so not all those who wish to do an oral presentation may be accommodated and will be assigned to the poster session. If you have recently already completed a poster you may use it for this event.

Schofield Memorial Lecture

The Schofield lecture commemorates Francis Schofield, a renowned veterinary pathologist who taught at the college from 1921 to 1955. Internationally respected for his work in animal diseases, he is also revered in Korea for calling attention to the nation's plight during its occupation by Japan and for his teaching and missionary work in Korea following his retirement from OVC.

Reception and Awards Ceremony

Light refreshments and the awards ceremony will immediately follow the Schofield Memorial Lecture.

OVC Graduate Student Research Symposium Organizing Committee

Dr. Gordon Kirby, Associate Dean, Research and Innovation
Elizabeth Lowenger, Manager, Student Affairs
Barb Gaudette, Graduate Studies and Research Assistant
Neda Barjesteh , Pathobiology
Emma Louth, Biomedical Sciences
Katie Clow, Pathobiology
Seyedmehdi Emam, Pathobiology
Eamonn McGuinty, Population Medicine
Kaitlin Patterson, Population Medici ne
May Kamleh, Population Medicine
Alisha Matte, Population Medicine
Emily Gilbert, Biomedical Sciences
Rashi Asthana, Clinical Studies
Carina Cooper, Clinical Studies